The Indian Premier League is the most significant cricket league in Asia, and the Sunriser Hyderabad is one of its star teams. Also known simply as the Sunrisers or SRH, the cricket franchise has risen from its humble beginnings into a successful cricket squad. The side is also a city-based cricket franchise, just like the rest of the IPL teams.

Today, we will highlight the things that you need to know about this professional IPL cricket franchise.

Brief History of Sunriser

Prior to the establishment of the Sunriser Hyderabad, there was an offshoot cricket team called the Deccan Chargers. The Deccan Chargers were an IPL franchise that represented the city of Hyderabad from the creation of the tournament. However, the franchise was defunct in 2012 when the owner of the franchise, Deccan Chronicle, went out of business.

Since the dissolution of the Deccan Chargers, the franchise was bought by Sun TV Network and became the Sunrisers Hyderabad. The new franchise was revealed in Chennai on December 18, 2012, and had its debut match at the IPL in 2013. 

The owner of the franchise, Sun TV Network, was the most prominent television network in India, with over 32 TV stations and 45 FM radio stations. The company was based in Chennai, and they bought the Deccan Chargers with over 10,000,000 United States dollars.

IPL History

The Sunriser Hyderabad first appeared in the Indian Premier League in 2013, right after the Deccan Chargers were defunct. They started with a roster of 20 players from the Chargers and left several slots for 13 more players. During that time, they reached the knockout stage but went no further after they were defeated by the Rajasthan Royals. 

Today, the Sunrisers are still one of the top performers in the IPL. For the 2023 season, the former manager of the team, Tom Moody, was replaced by the newly appointed Brian Lara. The new group will be joined by upcoming star players Harry Brook, Heinrich Klaasen, Mayank Agarwal, and Adil Rashid.

Identity and Home Stadium

The franchise’s official logo was revealed on December 20, 2012, at the same time it was announced that Kris Srikkanth would coach the newly formed professional cricket team. 

The official design of the team’s jersey was unveiled on March 8, 2013. Meanwhile, the official jingle of the group was composed by G. V. Prakash Kumar and was publicly released on March 12, 2013. 

Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium

The home ground of the Sunriser Hyderabad was the Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium, which was located in Hyderabad, state of Telangana. The stadium was operated and maintained by the Hyderabad Cricket Association (HCA). The home ground has a seating capacity of 55,000 attendees.

Kit and Sponsors

The official sponsors for the kit of the Sunrisers Hyderabad are Puma (2013), TYKA (2014 to 2021), and Wrogn (2022 to present). 

Meanwhile, the franchise had several sponsors for the team’s shirt, including MakeMyTrip, Red FM, Coolwinks, Cars24, WHSmith, UltraTech Cement, JK Lakshmi Cement, and FanCraze. As for the chest branding, the team’s sponsors are Red FM, Sun Direct, Valvoline, Kuhl, Justdial, Rupa, and Kent RO.

Notable Players

The Sunriser Hyderabad has plenty of talented cricketers since they debuted in 2013. However, only a few of these left a mark that earned recognition. 

Aiden Markram is one of the key players of the Sunrisers, and he is known for his remarkable form. He was one of the participants in SAT20 and also contributed to the team’s success at the T20I, in which the South African squad overcame the record left by the West Indies.

Harry Brook recently debuted in the Indian Premier League, and it was the first time he appeared in an elite cricket competition. Another notable player in the IPL is Umran Malik, who is generally known for his agility and fast-paced gameplay. 


Sunrisers Hyderabad vs. Royal Challengers Bangalore

Prior to the dissolution of the Deccan Chargers, the Hyderabad franchise had already created a rivalry with the Royal Challengers Bangalore. It is no surprise that ever since the debut of the Sunrisers Hyderabad to replace the DC, they also have gone neck and neck with their predecessor’s nemesis several times. 

In the 2009 Indian Premier League, the Deccan Chargers defeated the RCB in the finals. Similarly, the Sunriser Hyderabad overcame the RCB during the knockout round of the 2016 Indian Premier League. The Hyderabad franchises tend to sabotage the Royal Challengers Bangalore’s campaign unintentionally.


The Sunrisers were one of the significant franchises in the Indian Premier League. Replacing the now-defunct Deccan Chargers, the SRH have risen to prominence and become a successful cricket franchise in India.